PDA

Ver la versión completa : Impressive work (but) complex GUI

Imagem
15/01/2009, 20:02
Dear friends

First of all, let me congratulate you for your work. I'm a photographer myself (working with analogue and digital cameras) and I find these programs to be very clever designed - Perfect RAW, in particular, seems to be quite a step ahead, especially if it permits HDR.

I've tried all Exposure Blending and HDR solutions with less than satisfactory results - Photomatix and such produces very unreal outputs that are not at all suited for Fine Art photographers. Then moved to TuFuse (and TuFusion) with much more natural results however still noisy. Have not yet fully tried Zero Noise and Perfect RAW as the GUI seems a bit complex for Computer Science ignorants like myself.

At this point, I'm only interested in Fine Art Black & White photography. Please allow me to let you know about my needs believing that perhaps I might also be helping other folks (with similar needs):

a) A more simple tool/GUI to work with my digital bracketed images. Like dragging -2,0,+2 shots and, with one or two clicks, get the results: a Higher Dynamic Range, less noise and, if possible, a Black & White output.

b) A basic Photoshop action to Tone Map the result with Photoshop. Or having that option as a second step of your program (inside it, I mean).

c) The ability to also work with scanned negatives (16 bit linear Tif) and bring all the benefits of HDR to beautiful old school quality captures.

I'm very impressed with your work. Just wishing it could be a tad simpler to use. My fault, much probabely...

Warm regards from Portugal,
Imagem

Guillermo Luijk
22/01/2009, 16:46
Hi Imagem, using Zero Noise to get B&W images is much simpler than you may think.

1. Set white balance to preset 'None' and output colour profile to 'None' as well.
2. Click 'Develop', then 'Calc EV', then 'Build map' (recommended to set 2 pixels of progressive blending for map building)